Favorites and recent references stay on this device. No patient data is stored.
Choose the species
One selection filters the source overview, clinical facts, reports and dose calculator. Literature references are not species-filtered.
Source overview
Recorded excerpts for one species. Each dose remains a separate source entry; no regimen is selected.
Other species · Applies to the overview and full clinical evidence below.
Indications 0
No indications recorded for this species.
Sourced dose regimens 1
Infiltrate surgical site per protocol, Per procedure, Infiltration
Pending clinical review (PROPOSED)Not applicable (NOT_APPLICABLE)Source: Plumb's Veterinary Drug Handbook, 7th ed., p. 727–730 (lidocaine, incl. local/systemic uses); Saunders Handbook of Veterinary Drugs (Papich), 4th ed., p. 86–87 (bupivacaine) — Dosing table
View source context
Pending clinical review (PROPOSED) Not applicable (NOT_APPLICABLE)
Not applicable · Rule-based (RULE_BASED)
Original excerpt: Infiltrate surgical site per protocol
Contraindications 0
No contraindications recorded for this species.
Precautions 0
No precautions recorded for this species.
Monitoring 0
No monitoring recorded for this species.
Clinical evidence
Pending clinical review (PROPOSED)Rule-based (RULE_BASED)— applies to the facts and dose entries in this species selection; individual source records retain their own status.
Dose regimens1
This calculator performs arithmetic only on the sourced dosing field shown for each result — it does not verify the field's accuracy, does not select which field to use for a patient, and does not replace a veterinarian's order. Not for clinical use. Confirm every result against the primary source before dispensing.
Dose calculation
Species: Other species. Results use the source regimens shown below.
- Review the source route shown below.
- Enter patient weight and its unit.
- For volume, optionally enter a matching label concentration.
Source route: Route not specified
Manual verification required — this source did not state a per-weight dose this calculator can compute from.
- Source regimen: Infiltrate surgical site per protocol, Per procedure, Infiltration
- Source formulation
- Not specified in this source
- Dose basis
- Not specified in this source
Indication: Not specified in this source field
Manual verification required — this source did not state a per-weight dose this calculator can compute from.
Plumb's Veterinary Drug Handbook, 7th ed., p. 727–730 (lidocaine, incl. local/systemic uses); Saunders Handbook of Veterinary Drugs (Papich), 4th ed., p. 86–87 (bupivacaine) — Dosing table
Adverse effects0
No adverse effects or event reports recorded for this species selection.
Literature references5
References are linked to this drug. Species applicability is not recorded here, so the species filter does not narrow this list. Imported dates do not retain their original precision; confirm dates in the original citation.
- Blinded, randomized, placebo-controlled study of the efficacy of bupivacaine liposomal suspension using static bodyweight distribution and subjective pain scoring in dogs after tibial plateau leveling osteotomy.
Study summary not available in the imported record. Open the original citation to review the study.
- Evaluation of the usage of incisional liposomal bupivacaine as a local anaesthetic for dogs undergoing limb amputation.
Study summary not available in the imported record. Open the original citation to review the study.
- Blinded, randomized, placebo-controlled study of the efficacy of bupivacaine liposomal suspension using static bodyweight distribution and subjective pain scoring in dogs after tibial plateau leveling osteotomy surgery.
Study summary not available in the imported record. Open the original citation to review the study.
- Comparative growth dynamics of bacterial and fungal contaminants in bupivacaine liposomal injectable suspension, bupivacaine 0.5%, and propofol.
Study summary not available in the imported record. Open the original citation to review the study.
- An extended release local anaesthetic: potential for future use in veterinary surgical patients?
Study summary not available in the imported record. Open the original citation to review the study.
Sources: PubMed, National Library of Medicine; Plumb DC. Plumb's Veterinary Drug Handbook. 7th ed. PharmaVet Inc; 2011.